Greentree Servicing - Green Tree Servcing is doing a very illegal business

They intentionally put my payment as UAF (Unapplied Funds, then called tell me I did not make the payment, many calls, I tried to explain to them ( the debt collector), and offered to fax my bank statement, they refused to listen and insisted that I did not pay and was late, charged me with late fee, while my money was sitting there as unapplied funds. After I filed a complaints to Arizona Attorney' s Office, they still did not admit their mistakes or "crime", I would say, but at the same time they suddenly applied my money back to my account. That is very bad business practice
View full review
ID
#700290 Review #700290 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
bad, very bad business practice

Greentree Servicing - I'm so dissappointed at this company

Unfortunately, they bought my mortgage. I have had nothing but bad experiences with them. I'm on automatic payments and they increased my payment by $200 per month. I called to inquire about it several times and they kept telling me that it was due to taxes. However, my county increased my taxes by $800 per year, so mathematically the numbers do not add up at all. So after about 6 phone calls, I finally figured out that it was because this company requires a minimum of $1200 in my escrow account. It is not right to go through all of that and for my money to just sit there for them to use. Also, I recently inquired about getting the escrow removed, I was required to fax them a letter. Well, it has been 3 weeks since I sent the letter and no response. They always say that they will call back and NEVER do. Worst experiences, I really really hope that they sell my mortgage soon because I simply can not deal with their poor work ethics and the way that they treat their clients.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1029629

This is how I got them to finally do what they needed to do. Let me give you the procedure, then the background.

1. I typed a letter stating every conversation and transaction from the time that I realized they were overcharging us.

2. I sent that letter and copies of that letter to every known address for Green Tree, whic was 4 locations.

3. I sent each packet certified, return receipt.

4.

They settled out of court sending us a check for close to $2,000.00 and we had one month with no mortgage payment.

I hope that Ditech is a good move and not merely a restructing of the same bad business. Here's the background: We had to close our business in 2009 because it was tied so exclusively to the construction business. We were able to close it solvent, but we lost $40-50,000.00 annual income. Due to my husband's age, he had a very hard time finding a job paying what we needed.

We limped along for over a year depleting our reserves and existing on my income that was less than $33,000.00 annually. We also had a mortgage that was upside down because we trusted one of our sons-in-law who was in the mortgage business. When Bank of America sold our mortgage to Green Tree, they were charging us a high premium for hazard insurance because of circumstances surrouning being dropped by our home insurance company due to a tree falling on our house and a house fire. In our state, no other insurance company can fill the gap for 3 years, so mortgage companies get to supply hazard insurance from their source and charge interest on the premiums.

Our mortgage went from $698 to $880.00. When August 2014 came, we could get our own insurance. That company contacted Green Tree. Green Tree continued to charge us the same amount.

After much research and conversation with Green Tree, we contacted an attorney. On my end of it, I compiled documentation that was literally an inch thick. I made 3 copies and sent those packets to all 3 addresses that I had for Green Tree by certified, return receipt mail with a copy to the attorney. They admitted that they had not yet reviewed the mortgages that they had bought from Bank of America the previous year.

They adjust the payment correctly beginning January 2015, but continued to show that we owed the $880.00 through December 2014. They did send us a check that was close to $2,000.00 from the Escrow account and still had all they needed to pay insurance and taxes. The attorney contacted them. We went through this until February 2015 when they finally settled the rest of the discrepancies and lowered our mortgage payment to the amount it should be, plus they had to pay the court costs and the attorney fees.

My payments are now made by my bank to Green Tree (Ditech, now), and I monitor my Escrow account and payment account every month. In my letter to them, I told them that all correspondence with me and my husband must be conducted in writing whether by USPS or email; that I did not believer they were actually recording every conversation, or this would have been settled much earlier. I also told them that if they ever had a verbal conversation over the phone, we would be recording the conversation.

I hope you have already had success in getting your mortgage payments corrected. If not, my method is time consuming, but held up well in court.

Anonymous
#1028919

I am having the same problems. My payments have gone up plus they have added additional money (they say Paying toward Principle) to my payment.

I have no principal, only interest. they have drafted my account earlier than the normal and ealier than authorized. Customer service hung up on me.

I have never had to deal with such a scam of a company! Always did business with professional and ethical mortgage companies in the past.

View more comments (1)
ID
#692593 Review #692593 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Schaumburg, Illinois
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Greentree Servicing - Escrow

Mortgage was acquired from Citimortgage 5 months ago and these folks are horrible to deal with. The customer service reps have very bad attitudes and never a supervisor around. Just filed a complaint with the Consumer Protection Bureau because after two weeks, they can't explain where our tax escrow funds went. Fees and penalties have been assessed and we stated that we are not paying them. We've now been "escalated to a supervisor". This is supposed to be an electronic transaction and for some reason, they can't explain where our taxes went. This company is terrible and I would never recommend them to anybody. All I see online is nothing but complaints and sanctions from government agencies.
View full review
ID
#689063 Review #689063 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbus, Ohio
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
Order processing issue

Greentree Servicing - Returned my payment checks and put my house in forclosure

Citi sold my mortgage after I lost my job and couldn't make full payments. So for a while I sent everything I had to Green Tree. They tried to force me to refinance my mortgage but I read all the horror stories about this company and refused their offers. Then Green Tree started the nasty phone calls. Next Green Tree held onto one of my payment checks without cashing it. So I took money out of my retirement fund and sent to them. Thousands of dollars! After a few months they returned both of my uncashed checks and said my house is in foreclosure. I was still receiving monthly bills so I took thousands more dollars out of my retirement fund, and sent in the exact amount due before the due date. Weeks went by and they didn't cash my check. Now they just returned my check saying I need to send a certified check to reinstate my account. The check is good and all they had to do was cash it or call my bank to verify the money was there. It's a scam to delay payment and add more late fees. They ruined my credit. Green Tree is corrupt to the core.
View full review
ID
#684002 Review #684002 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Greentree Servicing - GT stole my mortgage payment

1.0
Details
GT gave me a false account number to my bank when setting up bill pay directly to GT. GT cashed my banks check within 1 business day, did not credit my mortgage account, and informed me that I needed to pay my mortgage bill again. Check was found and GT still will not credit my account or show that I indeed made Mays payment. This is fraudulent behavior, as i can prove GT cashed the check.I have been continually harassed about paying GT again for May, even though they have admitted to locating the missing check. Green Tree also will not update my mailing address after 7 months so that i can receive my monthly statement. Green Tree is a fraud, they are a scam, not a real bank.
View full review
ID
#644875 Review #644875 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Palatine, Illinois
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Cons
  • After servicing by greeen tree
  • Are frauds
  • Way i was being treated
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Full refund

Greentree Servicing - Green Tree stole my mortgage payment

Green Tree gave me a false account number to my bank when setting up bill pay directly to GT. GT cashed my banks check within 1 business day, did not credit my mortgage account, and informed me that I needed to pay my mortgage bill again. Check was found and GT still will not credit my account or show that I indeed made Mays payment. This is fraudulent behavior, as i can prove GT cashed the check.I have been continually harassed about paying GT again for May, even though they have admitted to locating the missing check. Green Tree is a scam, they are more like loan sharks than a legitamite banking service. And after 7 months of changing my address, GT still will not send my statements to the correct address.
View full review
ID
#644873 Review #644873 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Urbana, Illinois
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage

Greentree Servicing - Destruction of property

the mobile home located at6813 w. hans court, Homossassa, florida was vacated on or about march one 2015. George Voelker, moved out and said he would not be back ever.He and his wife have split and she has left the state, gone to virginia. some boys were staying there and tore heck out of the place, now George says he is going to rent the property to make some money until green tree takes it back. anyone that would rent it is no better than the boys. they were caught stealingpower and the light company took the meter plus the transformer off the pole.I hope you do something to stop this.
View full review
ID
#640362 Review #640362 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Homosassa, Florida
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage

Greentree Servicing - Greentree seeking recover bankructy funds from 2008

bank of america sold loan to g tree during modifacation all payments from beginnig of modification were paid on time if not the modifacation would not have been approved because that was the main qualifications never recieved anything type of advanced for any thing.i ma in a 40yr loan at 6.6% this ius what green tree give me after they lied to my credit union about my on time payment they said i was late but never was they did this to stop my refiance and now they are stopping me again with this 5239.85 corporate advance that i no nothing about
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#980703

CFPB AND FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION TAKE ACTION AGAINST GREEN TREE SERVICING FOR MISTREATING BORROWERS TRYING TO SAVE THEIR HOMES

APR 21 2015

CFPB and Federal Trade Commission Take Action Against Green Tree Servicing for Mistreating Borrowers Trying to Save Their Homes

Green Tree to Pay $48 Million in Borrower Restitution and $15 Million Fine for Servicing Failures

WASHINGTON, D.C.– Today, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) and the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) took action against Green Tree Servicing, LLC, for mistreating mortgage borrowers who were trying to save their homes from foreclosure. The mortgage servicer failed to honor modifications for loans transferred from other servicers, demanded payments before providing loss mitigation options, delayed decisions on short sales, and harassed and threatened overdue borrowers. Green Tree has agreed to pay $48 million in restitution to victims, and a $15 million civil money penalty for its illegal actions.

ID
#630650 Review #630650 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Washington, District Of Columbia
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
mortgage being heldhostage
Loss
$5240
Preferred solution
coropate advance remove from mortgage

Greentree Servicing - Mortgage Review from Tucson, Arizona

1.3
Details
I haaaate dealing with Greentee. Customer Service Representative arevery rude, don't sound time they even card to help. I could sit here and type my bad experiences but from the lokks of all the bad reviews and the support group page specifically for customers who have experienced the same...Greentree has to be aware and not prepared to change the opinion of the custumer. I curse the day my motgage went to them, working on refinancing with ,Bank of America
View full review
ID
#617764 Review #617764 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Greentree Servicing Mortgage Review

I used to have Citi mortgage then they sold me to Greentree Greentree is horrible they call me every day they say I OWe payment that was owed to Citi mortgage I've gotten a letter after letter from city mortgage saying I'm paid to date I owe nothing but Greentrees that says I am late a payment I'm not, they keep charging late payments. I even sent them bank statements
View full review
ID
#617650 Review #617650 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Roseville, Michigan
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
Problems with payment

Greentree Servicing - WORST MORTGAGE SERVICE COMPANY EVER

I have never had a late payment with them but they make it extremely difficult to even pay on your mortgage. If you will not sign up for auto pay the charge extra fees every month. there customer service is a joke. i have been trying to change the date of withdrawl for auto payments for months. they are telling me that they cannot change any payment information 10 days before or after payment date. even during the small window in between we have still been unable to get the payment date changed. Stay away from these guys if you can.
View full review
ID
#616880 Review #616880 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
Problems with payment

Greentree Servicing - Can they do this?

After having my mortgage through Citi for years, I got a letter in December stating Greentree is now my mortgage servicer. Long story short, I missed a payment. (I cannot believe you cannot pay by phone or online with them unless you sign up with your bank account.) Anyway, since they have this strange rule of a payment being considered late from day 2 of the month (which is impossible) they send me a letter of default, and tell me that I must make due on my payment (which Went through on the 37 day mark) and also on old late payment fees that came from my old company Citi, and If I dont send them thousands of dollars by April 16th, that they will be foreclosing on my home. They sent me a letter after they received that payment saying they receved it and applied it, but will still go forward with the beginnings of foreclosure if I dont send them all of the late payment fees! My mortgage payments will be completely current as of Monday. My question is can they really try to foreclose on my home over late fees? I thought foreclosure happened when you were three months late, which has never happened, ever. Can someone please tell me if this is even possible? I have never heard of anything like this in my life. If anyone has had a similar experience, or advice, please tell me. Ive tried calling them but got screamed at that they were going to take my house. How can that be? Is this a scare tactic?? God I hope so!
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#968284

Jackie 1 minute ago

Oh my god i have the same problem had stroke 6 months ago and i couldn't work.i am behind on my march but April hectically have time until April 16.please anyone any idea.Same they call me 10 times i told them having 6 shots on my spine i have severed damage on my neck also told them please give me i week i heal i will call you they call me next day and next day again 8:15 and 7:30 please update me.

thank you

god bless

Anonymous
#968283

Oh my god i have the same problem had stroke 6 months ago and i couldn't work.i am behind on my march but April hectically have time until April 16.please anyone any idea.

thank you

View more comments (1)
ID
#614594 Review #614594 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Iselin, New Jersey
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
Problems with payment

Greentree Servicing - Issues with payments

I too am now having problems with them. How are they getting away with this kind of business practice? How can they take someone's checks and not cash them? I mailed in two payments for January and February by USPS overnight delivery. They reported me late on the credit bureaus for February when the payment was clearly received by February 28, 2015 and I mailed my March payment in March 21, but yet they are reporting me late for March. How can that happen? I am writing a complaint to the Consumer Finance Protection Bureau, Better BB, and Federal Trade Commission
View full review
ID
#613152 Review #613152 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Muskego, Wisconsin
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
Problems with payment

Greentree Servicing - Closed my online account access

1.0
Details
GMAC sold my loan to these sorry ***. I registered for my online account 2 years ago and haven't used it for a while, but have tried to access the account in last 3 months and cannot. I even sent them a message asking why I wasn't able to access my account online without a response. I never had these problems with GMAC AND I WISH TO GOD THEY HAD NEVER SOLD MY MORTGAGE TO THIS COMPANY!!! What company does the kind of things they do? This is what they call doing business? They like to call, call, call,harass and ask silly questions, but when you try t contact them they don't respond. *** POOR business practices.
View full review
ID
#612719 Review #612719 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Newport News, Virginia
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Cons
  • Delays in response
  • Rude
  • Lack of customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Greentree Servicing - Green Tree, Truth in Lending; NOT

Entered into a Loan Modification in 2013. In 2014 received demand letter for Escrow Shortage. Upon review of the loan docs the monthly estimated escrow amount was approximately 60% of the actual funds needed given the assessment of property value and insurance premiums at that time. Thus, mortgage was increased $250.month. Today we received a demand notice for escrow funds for 2012-2013 that were clearly included in the original Note per the loan documents. Repeated issues of claims that GT did not receive tax and insurance documentation, which have been proven to be false according to the County and the Insurance Carrier. Truth is not a core value of GT and in hindsight after reading complaints about this company it appears that I am not alone. The government agency has proven to be a non-advocate for us as the homeowners. Beware of Green Tree.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#964483

My insurance actually went down and they went up on my payments saying my insurance premium went up which is a lie. It went up only according to their escrow analysis which the numbers are all wrong. I have proof.

ID
#612171 Review #612171 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Greentree Servicing Mortgage
Reason of review
Problems with payment